Choosing Music in Canine Freestyle

The question is: How do you choose music?

People’s responses:

Anne says:

I look for music that rhythm fits the rhythm of my dogs movement. For
me that is when the magic happens and the illusion of dance is created.

A lot of beautiful, exciting music has titles that would have nothing
to do with a dog handler relationship when it comes to titles or lyrics.

If someone limits themselves to titles and lyrics than that is their
choice but they may risk always being stuck in the same genre of
freestyle. I am not personally into acting out the lyrics.
But that is the good thing about freestyle its up to you to choose.

Choosing by title or lyrics is not a road I choose to take.

Charm is working on Minor Swing. A great song wit great phrasing and
tempo changes. It is snappy, sharp and bright. Like Charm

We also love Forrest Gump Suite. It gives us a chance to paint a
lyrical flowing picture. Another side of Charm

Neither title says anything about my relationship with my dog. That is
up to the performance. I think the audience is smart enough to see
that if I can carry off a successful routine.

I just choose not to be limited in my choices.

Diana says:

Like Ann I too choose not to be limited by my music preferences when choosing music. I listen to everything and anything…and do try just about anything! Including anything I can edit out some of the lyrics if the words or phrases are offensive and the rest of the song is fine! I use what ever type of music fits them for their age and movement!

Basically it’s, know your dog, figure out if you can move to it, figure out if your dog likes the music and be willing to try something different. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Choosing Music in Canine Freestyle

  1. Pingback: All About Dog Training Blog Carnival Edition Five - Natural Dog Training Blog

  2. Pingback: All About Dog Training Carnival « Maholia

Leave a Reply

