Dog Treats – Liver Brownies

Again, this is not my own recipe but gleaned from another site.
1 lb liver
3 eggs
2 gloves of garlic
About 1 1/2 cups of corn meal
About 1 1/2 cups of wheat germ

Ok I know I don’t usually advocate grains, but these are just for treats.

Cut up the liver into a blender (I wear gloves and use kitchen scissors, makes it easier)
Add the eggs and blend until you have a puree
Add the crushed garlic and whip it up again.
At this point, I pour the glup into a mixing bowl and stir in just a cup of corn meal and a cup of wheat germ. You should have the consistency of a real brownie mix. If it’s too moist, I add a bit more
of corn meal and wheat germ.

Use a 13 x 9 inch cake pan that has a bit of oil rubbed on the bottom.
Bake at 350 degrees for just about 20 minutes. It should look brown, not reddish, if so, just keep baking for another 5 minutes.

When they come out of the oven, I use a sharp knife to cut them into quite small squares.   Once thoroughly cool, I store in a zip lock baggie in the fridge. They usually keep for a few weeks this way. But you can
freeze half as well for later.

Now I don’t mind the smell of liver cooking, but if you do, you may want to keep the windows open LOL

Leave a Reply

